Anna Davern

Anna Davern

Anna Davern

 

Materials and technique: My art practice incorporates the technique of metal collage. The images that I find are either pre-printed onto metal souvenirs, such as biscuit and tea tins, or I print them myself using the technique of sublimation printing. The images are cut out, rearranged and reassemble using cold joining techniques.

Ideas and inspiration: In my current practice I make jewellery and objects that intend an examination of cultural identity. I use collage to rearrange and reconstruct the images of kitsch Australiana found on old biscuit tins to encourage an investigation of colonialism and multiculturalism.

 

Artist’s website

 

Anna will be exhibiting the Comments exhibition in the Unlimited Substance series from 06 March to 16 March 2015.

Anna will also be exhibiting in Perfect mutations from 08 July to 19 July 2015.

Leave a Reply

